Library Guides: CHEMISTRY &amp; BIOCHEMISTRY: Research Guide: Find Articles

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Databases to search for articles
Information on accessing American Chemical Society journals

Great for going deeper

Articles, which you can access through databases and through the library's catalog, will report on specific research done by scholars in the field. When you know your topic or research question, dig into articles for information that will support your ideas or answer your questions.

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications

Journal subscriptions + tokens

The UJ Libraries subscribe to a core set of about 25 American Chemical Society (ACS) journals, and participates in a token system for additional access to articles.

For more info, see:

Accessing ACS Journals from the UJ Libraries

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics. (An expanded version of Academic Search Premier.)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Use this link for easy access to UJ subscriptions from PubMed search results.
Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text coverage for engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, monographs, books, and conference papers and proceedings.

PubChem
An open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Mostly contains small molecules, but also larger molecules such as nucleotides, carbohydrates, lipids, peptides, and chemically-modified macromolecules. PubChem collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, toxicity data, and many others.

ECOTOX This link opens in a new window
Chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants, and wildlife, maintained by the EPA and other national organizations.
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and professional publications covering the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?

Contact the Reference & Instruction Librarian for help...

Finding a Database
Identifying Search Terms
Citing Resources
Creating a Research Plan
Getting the Most out of Library Resources!

CHEMISTRY & BIOCHEMISTRY: Research Guide

Your Librarian

Off Campus Access

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Great for going deeper

American Chemical Society (ACS) Publications

Journal subscriptions + tokens

Databases

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?