Library Guides: MUSIC: Research Guide: Find Articles

In This Section

Resources for finding articles, including
- Databases that cover music topics
- Selected music journals
- Some Google Scholar advice

These are your go-to databases for research in music.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The authoritative starting point for music research with over 52,000 articles charting the diverse history of music around the world. Search Grove Music Online, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and The Oxford Companion to Music.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For scholarly research especially in the humanities and social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, books, and primary sources (but may not include the most recent issues of journals).
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
For students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. Includes news/magazine sources, trade publications, scholarly articles, and more.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics.

Try an education subject database.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research in education and related fields. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations, and books dating back to 1966.

North Dakota Music Educator
Serials at Circulation Desk 780.705 N811
Journal of Research in Music Education
Full-text Online: 2001 to Present
Journal of New Music Research
Full-text Online: 1997 to Present (18 Month Delay)
Music Education Research
Full-text Online: 1999 to Present (18 Month Delay)
Popular Music & Society
Full-text Online: 1996 to Present (18 Month Delay)