Library Guides: NURSING: Research Guide: Find Articles

Your Librarian

Amanda Walch

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Raugust Library, Reference & Instruction Office
701-252-3467 ext. 5441

Subjects: For Faculty, Library & Research Help

Off Campus Access

Off-Campus Access Information

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Databases to search for articles

Great for going deeper

Articles, which you can access through databases and through the library's catalog, will report on specific research done by scholars in the field. When you know your topic or research question, dig into articles for information that will support your ideas or answer your questions.

Create a Search Plan

Search Plan Worksheet
Use this worksheet to come up with search terms and keywords, plan out where you'll search, and start thinking about how you can combine keywords for a more effective search.

Search Library Databases

Start with these core databases

Try these go-to databases first for nursing research and nursing journals. Then explore the other tabs of this section for databases that focus on various aspects of health and medical research.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, quick summaries, and evidence-based information sheets covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
Nursing Journals @ OVID This link opens in a new window
Search AJN: The American Journal of Nursing, Journal of Nursing Administration, MCN: The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing, Nursing Research, and Nursing. We subscribe to full text for the past 5 years.

You can also browse these journals.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text.

Search Tips: Nursing Journals@Ovid

Nursing Journals@Ovid provides access to our subscription of the latest 5 years of a few key nursing journals and evidence-based practice resources. However, you can search more broadly within Ovid if you click on the link above the search bar to Change resources and add or switch to Journals@Ovid Full Text. You will then have articles in your search results that we don't have full-text access to. Don't ever pay for an article, and don't be discouraged if you see "Pay per view" articles. You can:

Request articles through ILL by clicking on the orange and white "Get it @ UJ" buttons you see in each search result.
Search the titles of articles without full text in the Library Catalog to see if we have access to them in other databases..

Questions along the way? Email your Reference & Instruction Librarian, Amanda, at reference@uj.edu.

Try these databases for a broader set of health & wellness articles

From additional scholarly-focused resources to databases geared more towards consumers, this broader set of databases will widen your search net.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 550 full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines plus patient education sheets for more than 1300 drugs/medications.
Gale Health & Wellness This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive consumer health resource providing access to thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and more.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Covers all areas of health and wellness including drug information.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals (often peer-reviewed) and reports focusing on complementary, holistic, and integrated health care and wellness.

Try these databases for evidence-based practice resources

These resources include systematic reviews, evidence-based guides and information sheets, and more. For more EBP resources and info, see the EBP Guide:

Evidence-Based Practice Guide

JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Includes evidence-based information as well as tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence-based practice program. From the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI).
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the CENTRAL register of controlled trials. The Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews and meta-analyses that summarize and interpret the results of medical research.
Sigma Repository This link opens in a new window
An open digital repository that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types.

Try these databases for articles from other medical & related fields

These databases cover medicine and the health sciences more broadly, or focus on related fields such as psychology/mental health.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
An open access subset of PubMed that provides free full-text access to biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed open access journals on science, technology, and medicine topics.

Psychology & mental health

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier database for peer-reviewed research in all areas of psychology. Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?

Contact the Reference & Instruction Librarian for help...

Finding a Database
Identifying Search Terms
Citing Resources
Creating a Research Plan
Getting the Most out of Library Resources!