Library Guides: PHYSICAL THERAPY: Research Guide: Find Articles

Your Librarian

Amanda Walch

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Raugust Library, Reference & Instruction Office
701-252-3467 ext. 5441

Subjects: For Faculty, Library & Research Help

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Key PT and other relevant journals that we subscribe to
Core databases to search for physical therapy research
More databases to explore
Some Google Scholar advice

Journals

JOSPT
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy (JOSPT) publishes scientifically rigorous, clinically relevant content for members of the health care community to advance musculoskeletal and sports-related practice globally. Full-text is available from 1979.
Journal of Bodywork and Movement Therapies
A peer-reviewed journal that brings you the latest therapeutic techniques and current professional debate. Techniques featured include: Physical Therapy, Chiropractic, Massage Therapy, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Neuromuscular Therapy, Sports Therapy, and Applied Kinesiology.
Physical Therapy in Sport
An international peer-reviewed journal that provides a forum for the publication of research and clinical practice material relevant to the healthcare professions involved in sports and exercise medicine, and rehabilitation.
Musculoskeletal Science and Practice
A peer-reviewed international journal publishing high quality original research, review and Masterclass articles that contribute to improving the clinical understanding of appropriate care processes for musculoskeletal disorders.

Core Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
SportDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles on physical education, physical training, sports medicine, and other sports-related topics. Some full text.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for 500 journals - which have no embargo. Coverage is back 1981. CINAHL is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. 3000 journals are indexed. Cinahl gives author affiliations and offers searchable cited references.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to full text articles and other related resources when possible.

More Databases

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world with full-text articles from PubMed when possible.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and professional nursing journals covering many different types of nursing. Contains consumer-oriented drug information through a partnership with Lexi-Pals.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides information directed towards the needs of the patients, and to help the understanding of health-related topics.
JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Includes evidence-based information as well as tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence-based practice program. From the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI).
Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides information directed towards the needs of the patients, and to help the understanding of health-related topics.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Search the records of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's scholarly search interface. With Google Scholar, you can access peer-reviewed journal articles, books and book chapters.

Google Scholar is a good tool to use for a search for a known item. For literature searching, specialized databases have more functionality and access more comprehensive results.

PHYSICAL THERAPY: Research Guide