Library Guides: Evidence-Based Practice: Research Guide: Find: Databases for EBP

Find: Databases for EBP

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, quick summaries, and evidence-based information sheets covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Use this link for easy access to UJ subscriptions from PubMed search results.
JBI EBP Database This link opens in a new window
Includes evidence-based information as well as tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence-based practice program. From the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI).
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the CENTRAL register of controlled trials. The Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews and meta-analyses that summarize and interpret the results of medical research.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world with full-text articles from PubMed when possible.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text.
SportDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles on physical education, physical training, sports medicine, and other sports-related topics. Some full text.

Trip Database
The Trip Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.
PEDro
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 35,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA).

Sigma Repository This link opens in a new window
An open digital repository that freely collects, preserves, and disseminates full-text nursing research, educational, and evidence-based practice materials in a variety of formats and item types.