Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This subject guide is a compilation of criminal justice specific resources at the University of Jamestown. While this guide is by no means exhaustive, it is a good starting place for identifying resources and starting research.
- Reference Sources leads you to suggested background resources.
- Finding Articles is a list of databases and select criminal justice journals.
- Finding Books highlights how to search for books and eBooks and features selected criminal justice books at UJ.
- U.S. Agencies lists a number of government agencies involved in crime reporting and prevention.
- Statistics is a list of online resources for crime statistics.
- North Dakota selected websites covering crime and life and North Dakota.
- Associations a list of professional associations involved in the field of criminal justice.
ProQuest Criminal Justice Database
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. The database bridges theory with practice by providing information geared to those interested in careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security – as well as scholars and other researchers who study the causes, trends, and societal impacts of crime.
Gale OneFile: Criminal Justice
For researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. Brings together information from more than 250 journals.
America's News: Criminal Justice
From American news-sources: Pre-generated search for information on topics related to criminal issues, cybercrime, the judicial process and law enforcement issues.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. Includes data and analysis tools.
HeinOnline contains more than 186 million pages and 287,000 titles of historical and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. Covers disciplines such as law, history, international relations, criminal justice, and human rights. Includes North Dakota state government reports, laws, and history, as well as regularly-updated COVID-19 content.