Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL414: Advanced Multi-Genre Writing

Research resources for ENGL414: Advanced Multi-Genre Writing

In This Section

Jump To: Scholarly article databases | News & magazine databases | Database search strategies

 

Amanda's #1 piece of advice:

Take some time to consider what kinds of information will answer the questions you have about your public awareness campaign.

  • What historical context are you required to dig into? Who might have written about your awareness campaign? How detailed does that context need to be?
  • What kinds of media/artifacts did your awareness campaign produce? Who might have saved or archived them?

The types of information you need (or think you need) will affect where and how you search.

Library Databases

Scholarly Article Databases

News & Magazine Coverage

 

Browse the full list of databases here:

Search Strategies

Phrase searching

Search several words as a phrase

  • "mothers against drunk driving"
  • "reduce reuse recycle"
  • "libraries transform"

 

Boolean

Combine multiple search terms, or exclude certain words from your results

AND - search two topics/keywords together

  • "public health" AND smoking
  • labor AND unions
  • "animal rights" AND ethics
  • Puerto Rico AND statehood
  • "disability rights" AND education

OR - add synonyms or related terms

  • cigarettes OR tobacco OR vaping
  • anti-war OR peace
  • "native american" OR "american indian"

NOT - exclude words from your search results

  • "civil rights" NOT Martin Luther King
  • Puerto Rico NOT tourism
  • immigration NOT trump

 

Truncation

Search all variations of a root word

  • feminis* = feminism, feminist

 

Filters are your friends

Use filters with in a database or in the catalog to narrow your results after you've entered search terms. Filter by date, language, subject, etc.