Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHILOSOPHY: Research Guide

Resource suggestions and search tips for research in philosophy.

Getting Started

Rodin's "The Thinker" sculptureIn this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics

Covers a wide range of philosophical ideas. ebook

cover art

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy

The leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers. ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of the Mind

Explores the multidimensional nature of the human mind. REF 150 En192

cover art

Encyclopedia of Ethics

Coverage of ethical theory as pursued among English-speaking philosophers. ebook

cover art

Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Features articles from international experts across the discipline of philosophy. ebook

cover art

A Dictionary of Philosophical Logic

Introduces students to the main problems and positions of philosophical logic. ebook

cover art

A Dictionary of Philosophy

Spans the personalities, terminology and vocabulary of thousands of years of philosophical thought in addition to the more recent social and psychological sciences. ebook