Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RELIGION: Research Guide

Resource suggestions and search tips for research in religion.

Getting Started

In this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

The Oxford Dictionary of World Religions

Wide-ranging guide to the history, beliefs, dogmas, practices, individuals, and customs of the world's religions. REF 200.3 Ox2

cover art

Global Dictionary of Theology

A theological dictionary that embraces and explores a full range of global expressions of theology. ebook

cover art

Cambridge Dictionary of Christian Theology

Designed to help the reader understand and assess the specifically theological significance of the most important concepts. ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of Religion

Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of Philosophers on Religion

Presents the religious affiliations and beliefs of prominent philosophers, in A-Z entries. ebook

cover art

Religions of the World

A survey, in four volumes, of religious belief and practice in all 276 of the world's nations and territories. REF 200.3 R279

cover art

Encyclopedia of Religious Rites, Rituals, and Festivals

Covers general concepts and ideas, major forms of ritual and festival, and the religious rites and festivals of major and minor religions. REF 203.8 En19

cover art

Religious Holidays and Calendars

A comprehensive, authoritative source of information about the calendars and holidays of the world's religions. ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of Science and Religion

Addresses the interactions, contradictions and tensions between science and religion, both historically and in contemporary life. REF 201.65 En19