Library Guides: RELIGION: Research Guide: Find Articles

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Databases to search for articles
Other online resources for scholarly work
Select journals on religion topics

Great for going deeper

Articles, which you can access through databases and through the library's catalog, will report on specific research done by scholars in the field. When you know your topic or research question, dig into articles for information that will support your ideas or answer your questions.

Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, and is especially strong in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR's coverage often goes back to the first volume and issue of many journals, but it may not have the most recent issues.

Limit to Religion journals by clicking the box next to "Religion" on the advanced search page.
Gale OneFile: Religion & Philosophy This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies, religions, theological approaches, and social issues.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains overviews and perspectives on nearly 400 current debates, controversies, and issues.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier database for peer-reviewed research in all areas of psychology. Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.

Online Resources

Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world.
Research in Ministry (RIM)
RIM indexes and abstracts projects and theses from over 100 Doctor of Ministry (DMin), Doctor of Missiology (DMiss) and Doctor of Educational Ministry (DEdMin) programs accredited by the Association of Theological Schools (ATS).
Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative (CDRI)
The CDRI of the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) and the Association of Theological Schools (ATS) is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries. The creation of CDRI was made possible by a generous grant from the Henry Luce Foundation; it is now an ongoing ATLA program.

Selected Religion Journals

Journal for the Scientific Study of Religion
Full-text Online: 1961- Present (12 Month Delay)
Journal of Religion & Health
Full-text Online: 1997-Present (12 Month Delay)
Sociology of Religion
Full-text Online: 1993-Present (12 Month Delay)
International Journal for the Psychology of Religion
Full-text Online: 1991-Present (18 Month Delay)
Pastoral Psychology
Full-text Online: 1997-Present (12 Month Delay)

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?

Contact the Reference & Instruction Librarian for help...

Finding a Database
Identifying Search Terms
Citing Resources
Creating a Research Plan
Getting the Most out of Library Resources!

RELIGION: Research Guide

Your Librarian

Off Campus Access

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Great for going deeper

Databases

Online Resources

Selected Religion Journals

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?