Library Guides: BIOLOGY: Research Guide: Find Articles

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Databases to search for articles
Selected journals from the field of biology

Great for going deeper

Articles, which you can access through databases and through the library's catalog, will report on specific research done by scholars in the field. When you know your topic or research question, dig into articles for information that will support your ideas or answer your questions.

Core Databases

Start with these core resources

These are your go-to databases for research on biology topics.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics. (An expanded version of Academic Search Premier.)
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and professional publications covering the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

More Databases

Try these next

These databases either focus on particular aspects of biology or have a broader scope than the databases above.

Academic OneFile Select This link opens in a new window
For general scholarly research. Covers the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For scholarly research especially in the humanities and social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, books, and primary sources (but may not include the most recent issues of journals).
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Science.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
An open access subset of PubMed that provides free full-text access to biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Gale OneFile: Gardening & Horticulture This link opens in a new window
For horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with millions of articles from more than 100 publications, as well as encyclopedia and dictionary titles.
ECOTOX This link opens in a new window
Chemical toxicity data for aquatic life, terrestrial plants, and wildlife, maintained by the EPA and other national organizations.

Selected Biology Journals

Nature
Full-text Online: 1997-Present (12 Month Delay)
Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology
Full-text Online: 2000-Present (12 Month Delay)
Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews
Full-text Online: 1937-Present (12 Month Delay)
Quarterly Review of Biology
Full-text Online: 1999-Present (12 Month Delay); Early issues beginning in 1926 available from JSTOR.
PLOS Biology
Full-text Online: 2003-Present

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?

Contact the Reference & Instruction Librarian for help...

Finding a Database
Identifying Search Terms
Citing Resources
Creating a Research Plan
Getting the Most out of Library Resources!

BIOLOGY: Research Guide

Your Librarian

Off Campus Access

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Great for going deeper

Core Databases

Start with these core resources

More Databases

Try these next

Selected Biology Journals

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?