Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CRIMINAL JUSTICE: Research Guide

Search tips and resource suggestions for research in criminal justice.

Getting Started

scales symbolic of law and justiceIn this Guide, you'll find:

CJ101 - September 28, 2022

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources are a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

Essential Criminology

Guides students through the various definitions of crime and the different ways crime is measured. ebook

cover art

The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice

A wide-ranging resource with clear definitions for over 2,000 key criminal justice terms. REF 364.03 D295c

cover art

The SAGE Dictionary of Policing

A complete guide to policing in a comprehensive, easy-to-use format. REF 363.203 Sa183

cover art

Encyclopedia of Community Corrections

Explores all aspects of community corrections, from its philosophical foundation to its current inception. REF 365.603 En192

cover art

The Social History of Crime and Punishment in America

Surveys the history and philosophy of crime, punishment, and criminal justice institutions in America from colonial times to the present. REF 364.973 So131

cover art

Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment

The essential source of reference for the increasing number of people studying in, working in prisons and working with prisoners. ebook

cover art

Forensic Science: An Encyclopedia of History, Methods, and Techniques

Covers all aspects of forensic science from its beginning to its central place in modern law enforcement. REF 363.2503 T469f