Skip to Main Content
University of Jamestown Library Guides banner

CS140: Integrated Software Applications | 1. Gather Information

Search tips and resources for CS140

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Amanda Walch
she/her/hers
Contact:
Raugust Library, Director's Office
701-252-3467 ext. 5441

In This Section

magnifying glass iconIn this section, you'll find:

  • Tips for finding information through Google and through library databases
  • Suggested library databases for your research in this class

Decide Where to Search

double arrow pointing rightGoogle and library databases are useful in different ways.

Google is often good for getting started and getting a handle on your topic. It's also useful when you need information about or published by an organization, agency, or company. Databases are a way to get to published information like news and magazine articles, books and book chapters, and in-depth research.

In Google, you can... In library databases, you can...

Find a wide range of online information, such as

  • Information about individuals, companies, or organizations
  • Information from professional associations and government agencies, such as reports, guides, and data and statistics
  • Crowd-sourced or open encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other sources of basic information on specific topics (like Wikipedia)
  • News, especially local news
  • Blogs or other virtual spaces (like social media)
  • Primary sources from archives, museums, and libraries

Find information from academic publishers, newspapers and magazines, scholarly journals, and books, including

  • News and magazine articles
  • Radio and TV broadcast transcripts
  • In-depth research in scholarly articles or book chapters

Search specific sites or web domains - for example:

  • athlete compensation site:ncaa.org
  • gaza israel war site:nytimes.com
  • prairie conservation site:.gov

Search specific databases with different types of information or that specialize in different subject areas

 

Search for specific articles that are behind paywalls through Google

Limit by date

  • Click on Tools and then Any time to choose from a set timeframe or enter a custom range

Limit by lots of different filters, such as

  • Publication date
  • Type of information (book, article, report, etc.)

 

Library Database Suggestions

double arrow pointing rightUse library databases to find news articles and more.

Library search tools are a great place to find articles from major news organizations like the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and USA Today, plus some local papers from ND and nearby states. The databases below will also have transcripts from radio and television broadcasts.