Skip to Main Content
University of Jamestown Library Guides banner

Online Access Troubleshooting

Troubleshooting information, tips, and contact information for resolving access problems with online library resources.

In This Guide

This guide includes the most common errors to accessing the library's online resources and the solutions for resolving these errors.

For additional questions about accessing online library resources or about using the proxy, contact Jeanie at @jeanie.winkelmann@uj.edu. To learn how to access library resources off-campus, check out the Off-Campus Access page. 

Error Message: An error occurred. Contact your adminstrator for more information.

You may encounter this error message "An error occurred Contact your administrator for more information" occasionally when you click on an article or journal URL. This web browser issue can be solved by clearing your browser's cache and cookies regularly.

Solution: Clear your browser search history and then refresh/reload your page. Not sure how to do it? We have simple instructions on How to Clear Browser Cookies.

Error Message: ERROR for site owner: Invalid domain for site key

When you access or try to email article citations to yourself or someone else in ProQuest Academic Databases, you may encounter this error message: ERROR for site owner: Invalid domain for site key".  This is web browser issue that can be solved by clearing your browser's cache and cookies regularly.

Solution: Clear your browser search history and then refresh/reload your page. Not sure how to do it? We have simple instructions on How to Clear Browser Cookies.

What is GET IT @ ?

GET IT! is a library online service that provides direct links from a citation in a database (or Library Catalog) to online full-text of an article when available. It also provides a link to allow UJ students, faculty and staff to request an item via Interlibrary Loan if the print or electronic version is unavailable.

I clicked on GET IT @ link and nothing happens or I see a blank web page, what's wrong?

GET IT links use algorithms to locate the needed item (article, ebook ...) based on what's known about it: the journal name, volume, issue, ISSN number, article title, author, DOI, etc. Occasionally, the library database providers send incorrect information to GET IT (online link resolver), and it doesn't know (or cannot locate ) the correct item address. Additionally, there could be many reasons why a link from GET IT fails, but it's very important to report any online access issues to the Librarians at UJ. Please include the following: 

  • the database, library catalog, or other resources you were using
  • the citation (author, title, journal, volume, page, date) of the item you wanted and 
  • URL link on the GET IT failed.

Example screenshot:

 

Error message: web property is not accessible via this site

If you encounter this error message "this web property is not accessible via this site" contact Tuya at tuya.dutton@uj.edu or 701-252-3467 ext. 5433. 

Error Message: This site can't be reached

If you encounter this error message "This site can't be reached" at www.uj.edu or www.uj.edu/library website, please contact Technology Help Desk (IT). 

File missing: docs/suspend.htm today

If you encounter this error message "File missing: docs/sysepnd.htm today" contact Tuya at tuya.dutton@uj.edu or 701-252-3467 ext. 5433.