Library Guides: COMPUTER SCIENCE: Research Guide: Get Started

In This Guide

In this Guide, you'll find:

Reference Sources to help you find background information
Databases and some select computer science journals to help you Find Articles
Information on how to search the catalog and ebooks to help you Find Books

Search Tips Annotated Bibliography Tips Citation Managers Info

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings for applied sciences and computing disciplines. Some full text.
Gale OneFile: Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries.

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks.

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology

Summarizes how technology has developed, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components. ebook

Dictionary of Computing

Provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, program languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet. ebook