Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COMPUTER SCIENCE: Subject Guide

Search tips and resource suggestions for research in computer science.

In This Guide

code symbol In this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology

Summarizes how technology has developed, the future of computer programs and applications, and the significance of computer components. ebook

Dictionary of Computing

Provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, program languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet. ebook

Encyclopedia of Technology Terms

The definitive guide for a world laced with jargon, computer acronyms, and techno-speak. ebook

cover art

Concise Encyclopedia of Computer Science

Presents a wide ranging perspective on the key concepts and developments that define the discipline. REF 004.03 C748

Principles of Computer Science

Provides students and researchers with an easy-to-understand introduction to the fundamentals of computer science. ebook