Library Guides: EDUCATION: Research Guide: Find Articles

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Databases to search for articles
Selected journals from the field of education

Great for going deeper

Articles, which you can access through databases and through the library's catalog, will report on specific research done by scholars in the field. When you know your topic or research question, dig into articles for information that will support your ideas or answer your questions.

Advanced Database Searching (PDF, 241 KB)
This handout covers phrase searching, Boolean, and truncation.

Core Databases

Start with these core resources

These are your go-to databases for education research.

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
The premier database for research in education and related fields. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations, and books dating back to 1966.
ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
Access over 900 top educational publications with coverage on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in ERIC.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high-quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles, designed specifically for professional educators.
Explora Educator This link opens in a new window
Search multiple education databases in one interface, including ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, and the Professional Development Collection.

More Databases

Try these next

These databases cover related areas of study or have a broader scope than the databases above.

Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier database for peer-reviewed research in all areas of psychology. Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
*Includes education topics that focus on cognitive development, gender, family, linguistics, special education and counselling.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Limit to Education journals by clicking the box next to "Education" on the advanced search page.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics.

Selected Education Journals

American Educator
Published by the American Federation of Teachers. Issues are available freely online and through library databases.
Education
Available online from 1969, in print (1911-2018) in Raugust Library (Call number: Serials in Storage 370.5 Ed8)
Journal of Educational Psychology
Available online from 1910; in print in Raugust Library (Call number: Serials in Storage/at Circulation Desk 370.15 J826)
Educational Leadership
Available online from 1974; in print (1946-2012) in Raugust Library (Call Number: Serials in Storage 370.5 Ed8L)
Education Next
Available online from 2001
Technological Horizons in Education (THE) Journal
Available online from 1988
Phi Delta Kappan
Available online from 1992; in print (1969-2010) in Raugust Library (Call Number: Serials in Storage 370.5 P53)
Teaching Exceptional Children
Available online from 1997

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Higher education news, trends reporting, and job postings of interest to faculty, administrators, and student affairs professionals. Students, faculty, and staff can create a free account using their UJ email for access to the Chronicle on any device.

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?

Contact the Reference & Instruction Librarian for help...

Finding a Database
Identifying Search Terms
Citing Resources
Creating a Research Plan
Getting the Most out of Library Resources!

EDUCATION: Research Guide

Your Librarian

Off Campus Access

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Great for going deeper

Core Databases

Start with these core resources

More Databases

Try these next

Selected Education Journals

Need Help Finding Articles?

Need help finding articles?