Clapham - Sections B & E - ENGL102: Argumentative & Analytical Writing - Library Guides at University of Jamestown

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Resources for Dr. Clapham's sections of ENGL102

Unit 3 - SPR24

In-class activity, April 8: Identifying scholarly articles

Take a look at these two articles with a neighbor or small group. You do not have to read both articles, just skim to get a sense of what they are about.

As a small group, discuss the following questions:

How is each article organized? What are the headings you see?
What is the tone of each article? Do you see any unfamiliar or specialized terminology in either article?
How does each article use outside sources? How many outside sources does each article contain? Is a standardized citation style used?
Which of these articles is scholarly, and why?

Article 1

"Families Struggle as Pandemic Program Offering Free School Meals Ends"

Article 2

"Factors Associated with Universal Free School Meal Provision Adoption among US Public Schools"

Find scholarly articles to add depth to your arguments

These databases contain scholarly articles to help you add depth to your arguments. When searching for scholarly research on your problems, you may have to broaden your search terms. If you cannot find scholarly research that addresses the solutions you have identified, look for scholarly research that adds more context to the problem you have been writing about.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics. (An expanded version of Academic Search Premier.)
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For scholarly research especially in the humanities and social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, books, and primary sources (but may not include the most recent issues of journals).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.

Depending on the broad topic area of your problem, browse the All Databases List

We have databases that focus on health, education, criminal justice, science and technology - browse the All Databases List to find a subject-focused database if you are not finding much in the general (multidisciplinary) databases above.

All Databases List

Broaden your search to news and analysis

These databases are good for more targeted searching about your problem and potential solutions.

US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. Some publications, especially major newspapers, are updated daily.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics. (An expanded version of Academic Search Premier.)
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
For general scholarly research. Covers the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology. (An expanded version of Academic OneFile Select.)

Search here for background and contextual info

These databases are best for broader keywords and search terms and will help you define your chosen problem.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains topic overviews, news/magazine sources, trade publications, and scholarly information on many important current events, issues, and debates.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains overviews and perspectives on nearly 400 current debates, controversies, and issues.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains topic overviews, news/magazine sources, trade publications, and scholarly information on many important current events, issues, and debates.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 700 encyclopedias and dictionaries on all subjects. A great place to find background information when starting a research project.

Phrase searching and Boolean operators work in Google!

Use quotation marks to search phrases
- "lunch shaming"
AND is always implied
OR is less useful because of the way Google organizes search results
Instead of NOT use -
- school lunch funding -federal

Site search - search only a specific website or type of website

site:chronicle.edu
site:.gov

Tools dropdown - limit by date

More Google tips in our general research how-to guide.