Flory - Sections A & C - ENGL102: Argumentative & Analytical Writing - Library Guides at University of Jamestown

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Library database suggestions for Dr. Flory's sections of ENGL102
Tips for developing keywords (or search terms)

Develop Keywords

Keywords are the terms you will use to search library databases. They represent the main aspects of the topic you're researching. Below are some tips for developing keywords.

Prior Reading

Think back to the articles you've read as a class. What problems and solutions are identified in the articles you've read so far?

Brainstorming

Ask yourself who, what, where, how, when, and why questions to brainstorm possible keywords.

Who is involved in or affected by the problem you are researching? Who might be working on possible solutions?
What are the main ideas involved in the problem you're researching? What scientific ideas or technology are involved in the problem, or in solutions to the problem?
How does that problem affect us, or affect the world more generally? How would proposed solutions address the problem?
Are there particular dates or events associated with your problem? What about locations (or can you narrow your focus to a particular location)?
Why does your problem matter? Why are solutions to that problem important? What's at stake?

Start Here

These databases are general and cover many topics. They are good starting points for any research project, but especially ENGL102 papers.

Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Contains topic overviews, news/magazine sources, trade publications, and scholarly information on many important current events, issues, and debates.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Full-text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.
**If you hit paywalls for major newspapers while searching through Google, search those article titles in this database!
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this database contains popular magazines, encyclopedia and dictionary content, primary source documents, and images.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics. (An expanded version of Academic Search Premier.)

Try these resources next

These databases focus on specific fields and disciplines related to your science and technology topics. Use these resources to dig deeper into those topics, and to find scholarly information.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Includes scholarly, general interest, and government publications.
Gale OneFile: Science This link opens in a new window
Full-text scholarly journals and professional publications covering the biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
For scholarly research especially in the humanities and social sciences. Includes scholarly articles, books, and primary sources (but may not include the most recent issues of journals).
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Academic journals, leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings for applied sciences and computing disciplines. Some full text.