Library Guides: ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE: Research Guide: Get Started

In This Guide

In this Guide, you'll find:

References Sources to help you find general and background information
Databases and journals to help you Find Articles
Information on searching library collections to help you Find Books & Media
Tips and resources to help you Find Data & Government Reports
Information on using APA to Cite Your Sources

EESC220: For class 2/1/24

Databases Exploration Activity

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics. (An expanded version of Academic Search Premier.)

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks.

A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
Call Number: REF 333.72 P219d
Provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change, Second Edition
Call Number: ebook and REF 363.73874 En192
Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change. Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.
Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment
Call Number: REF 577 C691d
Covers a range of topics relating to ecology, including climate, vegetation, pollution, waste disposal, and energy conservation.