Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KINESIOLOGY: Research Guide

Resource suggestions and search tips for research in kinesiology.

Getting Started

In this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

double arrow pointing rightQuick links to best bets

 Try these key resources first.

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

Encyclopedia of Exercise Anatomy

Includes full-body anatomy illustrations, annotated anatomical illustrations for all exercises, photographs of exercises, and concise step-by-step instructions and guidance. 613.71 L622e

cover art

The Encyclopedia of Exercise, Sport and Health

A comprehensive A-Z guide, with entries on: fitness, training, nutrition, psychology, prevention, injuries, illness, alternative therapies, diagnosis and treatment. REF 796.03 B834e

cover art

Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences

Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science. ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology

Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness. REF 796.03 En192

cover art

Quick Reference Dictionary for Athletic Training

An essential companion for students and professionals in athletic training. REF 617.1027 B457q

cover art

Quick Reference Dictionary for Physical Therapy

Provides a magnitude of terms, definitions, guidelines, and references essential to the field. REF 615.82 Q401

cover art

Laboratory Manual for Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy

Everything you need to build a solid foundation in the terminology, principles, and application of anatomy. ebook