In this section, you'll find:What you've already found can help you locate more research and come up with other topics/questions to dig into. Think about: What do your current set of resources say about your topic? What questions do they ask? What questions do they answer? What questions remain?
Taking note of what each of your sources say about the main aspects or questions of your topic is a great strategy. It can help you figure out where there are gaps in your research or where you already have enough evidence to support your points or answer your questions.
Not every source is going to address each question or part of your topic, and that's okay! Try a chart like the one below to help you organize your research and what each source adds to your project:
| Main ideas/questions | Source 1 | Source 2 | Source 3 |
| Idea/question 1 | |||
| Idea/question 2 | |||
| Idea/question 3 |
1. Mine articles you've already saved for related concepts & new search terms, especially​
2. Follow citation "chains" to track down your sources' sources
Start with these core resourcesThese are your go-to databases for research in exercise science.
Indexes journal articles on physical education, physical training, sports medicine, and other sports-related topics. Some full text.
Scholarly research, quick summaries, and evidence-based information sheets covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
Access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine.
Try these nextThese databases cover other health topics, such as consumer health and nutrition, or have a broader scope than the databases above.
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Use this link for easy access to UJ subscriptions from PubMed search results.
Provides nearly 550 full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines plus patient education sheets for more than 1300 drugs/medications.
Full-text journals (often peer-reviewed) and reports focusing on complementary, holistic, and integrated health care and wellness.
Comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Covers all areas of health and wellness including drug information.
More than five million articles from more than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as encyclopedia and dictionary content.
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics.
The premier database for research in education and related fields. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations, and books dating back to 1966.
Need help finding articles?Contact the Reference & Instruction Librarian for help...
