Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POLITICAL SCIENCE: Research Guide

Resource suggestions and search tips for research in political science.

In This Guide

vote buttonIn this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

Writing a Research Paper in Political Science

A practical guide to inquiry, structure, and methods. 808.06632 B146w

cover art

The Encyclopedia of Political Science

A core reference to the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics. REF 320.03 En192k

cover art

Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought

Defines concepts and ideologies, surveys the arguments on issues, and summarizes the thought of major political theorists. ebook

cover art

Dictionary of American Government and Politics

Explains the key terms used in discussion of the political system, including major figures, events, ideas, movements, and Supreme Court cases. ebook

cover art

Key Concepts in Governance

Provides a clear introduction to the technical concepts and policies of contemporary governance through short definitional essays. ebook

cover art

Handbook of Political Communication Research

Explores the current state of political communication research in each of its various facets. 320.014 H191

cover art

Nations of the World

Profiles of all of the countries, featuring economic, political, business, and cultural information. REF 909.83 N213 and ebook

cover art

The Oxford Handbook of Political Economy

Surveys the field of political economy, ranging from micro to macro, national to international, institutional to behavioral, methodological to substantive. 330 Ox22

cover art

The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History

Covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law

An essential reference on the reciprocal role that U.S. and Native policy and law have played in American political development. REF 323.1197 En192

cover art

Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right

Articles on individuals, movements, parties, and ideological principles of left- and right-leaning politics. REF 320.03 En19c