Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSYCHOLOGY: Research Guide

Research help and resource suggestions for research in psychology.

In This Guide

icon of a lightbulb that is half a brain within a silhouetted headIn this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources are a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories

Covers the origin, development, evolution, historical definition, analysis, and critique of psychological concepts. ebook

cover art

APA Dictionary of Psychology

Definitive information on the lexicon of the field for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions. REF 150.3 Am35, 2015

cover art

APA Dictionary of Clinical Psychology

An abridged version of the full Dictionary of Psychology, tailored for clinicians and clinicians-in-training. REF 616.8914 Am351

cover art

Psychology and Mental Health

Covers the history of psychology, core aspects of behaviorism, cognitive psychology, psychoanalytic psychology, diagnoses, disorders, treatments, tests, notable people, and issues. REF 150.3 P9596p and ebook

cover art

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology

A robust 800-entry survey of the field of psychology including notable people, theories, and terms, as well as landmark case studies and experiments. ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of the Mind

Explores the multidimensional nature of the human mind with essays from scholars across the entire range of mind-related academic disciplines. REF 150 En192

cover art

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology

The definitive resource for all students, teachers and researchers of social psychology eager to know more about a particular phenomenon, concept, or theory. ebook

cover art

Addictions and Substance Abuse

Essays on substances of abuse, treatment and addiction overviews, physiological and psychological issues and behaviors, trends and statistics, and social contexts and concerns. REF 362.29 Ad23m and ebook

cover art

Encyclopedia of Sport and Exercise Psychology

Entries explore the theory, research, and application of psychology as it relates to sport and fitness. REF 796.03 En192