BUSINESS: Research Guide | Find Data & Statistics

View research reports and datasets across a variety of topic areas: politics, social trends, science, and more.

Tens of thousands of open-access datasets along with tools for researchers.

Provides access to census data for the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.

Every five years, the U.S. Census Bureau collects extensive statistics about businesses. This official count, better known as the Economic Census, serves as the foundation for the measurement of U.S. businesses and their economic impact. This “business” census serves as the most extensive collection of data related to business activity.

Find data about the U.S., such as demographic and economic data, population, and maps. Lists and links to federal agencies that report statistics.

Topics focus on agriculture, including commodity prices, rural economies, and trade/international markets.

Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.

U.S. government agency that provides official macroeconomic and industry statistics including the gross domestic product of the United States.

A unit of the United States Department of Labor. It is the principal fact-finding agency for the U.S. government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics and serves as a principal agency of the U.S. Federal Statistical System.

The Cabinet department of the United States government concerned with promoting economic growth. It oversees several economic organizations, including the Bureau of Economic Analysis, Economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.

Selected statistics by country from the World Bank.

The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators. Manuals, guides, and other material on statistical practices at the IMF, in member countries, and of the statistical community at large are also available.

An overview of the activities currently undertaken by the United Nations Statistics Division in the area of basic economic statistics.

The most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.

The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

Economic research and analysis from the World Trade Organization, including annual publications, reports, lectures, and documents from related organizations.

The WTO provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its databases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.

The Consumer Expenditure Surveys (CE) program provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States. The CE program provides these data in tables, LABSTAT database, news releases, reports, and public use microdata files. From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Explore search terms, keywords, and market trends with this visual tool from Google.
See the YouTube video below for a brief look at how to use Google Trends for market research.