Library Guides: CLINICAL RESEARCH: Research Guide: Find Articles

Online Research & Instruction Librarian

Jeanie Winkelmann

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Library & Research Help

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Databases to search for research articles
Tips for Google Scholar

Great for going deeper

Articles, which you can access through databases and through the library's catalog, will report on specific studies done by researchers in the field. When you know your area of focus, dig into articles for information that will support your ideas, aid in your study design, and answer your research questions.

Core Databases

Start with these core resources

These are your go-to databases for clinical research.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, quick summaries, and evidence-based information sheets covering 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine, and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Use this link for easy access to UJ subscriptions from PubMed search results.

More Databases

Try these next

These databases also cover health sciences research or focus on specific subject areas or types of evidence.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Contains journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world with full-text articles from PubMed when possible.

ClinicalTrials.gov
Online database of clinical research studies and information about their results. Relies on sponsors or investigators to submit and update information about studies.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Contains different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews and the CENTRAL register of controlled trials. The Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews and meta-analyses that summarize and interpret the results of medical research.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
Reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text.
SportDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles on physical education, physical training, sports medicine, and other sports-related topics. Some full text.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The premier database for peer-reviewed research in all areas of psychology. Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.

CLINICAL RESEARCH: Research Guide | Find Articles