In this section, you'll find:We have a few library databases that contain theses and dissertations, although full-text options can be somewhat limited.
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities.
Open-access database of historic and contemporary dissertations and theses, from the early 20th century to the present. Mostly citations and abstracts with some direct links to institutional repositories.
Your next option is to search Google, specifically targeting educational institutional repositories, or IRs. Many universities have IRs where faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate students can submit capstone work like theses and dissertations. If you find citations for relevant dissertations in library databases, you might be able to find the full text through the publishing institution's IR.
To search broadly for dissertations in Google, add dissertation or thesis and site:.edu to whatever subject you're looking for.
Adding site:.edu to your search limits the sites that Google will comb through to only sites that end in .edu - so, the sites of educational institutions. You will still have to examine a few of the results to see if they really are theses and not dissertations (but you may even be able to tell from the search results list by looking at the gray blurbs under each result).
Taking good research notes is a key part of staying organized.
Citation managers are sometimes good tools for these types of notes, but using a text document or spreadsheet and folders on your computer, OneDrive, or Google Drive can work just as well. The important thing is finding a system that works for you, and then using it consistently.
Citation managers can help you keep track of large amounts of sources, as well as generate references lists and in-text citations. They can save you a lot of time and effort as you compile resources and integrate them into your writing.
ZoteroZotero is a free bibliographic manager available as a desktop application and browser plugin. Zotero collects, manages, and cites research from multiple types of sources and also has file management and notetaking capabilities. Through Zotero you can organize your research into different folders for different projects and create bibliographies using Word or OpenOffice. Zotero has a large user community with documentation and video tutorials to help you get started.
MendeleyMendeley is another free reference manager that allows you to manage citations and PDFs. It includes plugins for Word and OpenOffice to create citations and/or bibliographies as you write. Unlike other similar tools, Mendeley is a social networking tool that allows you to connect and share with other researchers and students - you can even login via Facebook.
Provides the foundations that are necessary for finding and interpreting research evidence across all healthcare professions, revised to reflect the most current changes in the field including the growing emphasis on evidence-based practice (EBP) and a chapter on systematic reviews and meta-analysis.
Your guide to research and evidence-based practice. This classic text explains the hows and whys of conducting and writing a research project.
Compares qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. Includes key elements of the research process, a literature review, an assessment of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of ethics in scholarly inquiry.
The authoritative guide to dissertations and theses, now updated and revised to reflect changes to the APA's Publication Manual, Seventh Edition. ebook
A concise and accessible review of the thoughts and methods which relate to undertaking research, and evaluating research and clinical treatment. ebook
Offers step-by-step guidance on planning, writing, and defending a dissertation. Each chapter answers commonly asked questions, contains a checklist for each part of the dissertation, provides a summary of key points, and lists additional resources. ebook
Offers concrete and efficient processes for completing parts of the dissertation where students tend to get stuck. For students in all disciplines and for both quantitative and qualitative dissertations. ebook
