Library Guides: LANGUAGES: Research Guide: Find Articles: German

Your Librarian

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Raugust Library, Reference & Instruction Office
701-252-3467 ext. 5441

Subjects: For Faculty, Library & Research Help

Databases to search for scholarly articles in German, and for articles on German language, history, and culture
Selected journals

Search these databases for scholarly articles in German, as well as articles about German language, culture, history, and more.

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines, and is especially strong in the humanities and social sciences. JSTOR's coverage often goes back to the first volume and issue of many journals, but it may not have the most recent issues.
Under Advanced Search - limit to "Language & Literature."
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics.

E-Periodica
Swiss journals in German and French available online. Subjects range from the natural sciences through architecture, mathematics, history, geography, art and culture to the environment and social policies, from the 18th century through to the present.

Or, try browsing these selected journals!

German Life & Letters
Full-text Online: 1998-Present (12 Month Delay)
German Quarterly
Full-text Online: 2000-Present
Older print issues from 1963-1997 available in Raugust Library upon request.
Germanic Review
Full-text Online: 1975-Present (18 Month Delay)