Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LEADERSHIP: Subject Guide

Search tips and resource suggestions for research in the field of leadership.

In This Section

magnifying glass iconIn this section, you'll find:

Staying Organized

Taking good research notes is a key part of staying organized.

 

Keep track of:

  • What search terms or keywords you used
  • Where you were searching (database names, the library catalog, Google, etc.)
  • When you were searching - databases and websites are constantly removing and adding content, and links change or break
  • Full citation information for everything you save
  • Permalinks or stable URLs (or DOIs) so you can get back to what you found

 

Have a system for:

  • Organizing the articles you download, including naming PDFs (usually the file name automatically assigned at download is not helpful - you want to be able to quickly identify and find the articles you're using in your research) 
  • Keeping track of summaries, quotes, or paraphrases from your sources, including exactly what pages those quotes or paraphrases come from

 

Citation managers are sometimes good tools for these types of notes, but using a text document or spreadsheet and folders on your computer, OneDrive, or Google Drive can work just as well. The important thing is finding a system that works for you, and then using it consistently.

Citation managers can help you keep track of large amounts of sources, as well as generate references lists and in-text citations. They can save you a lot of time and effort as you compile resources and integrate them into your writing.

Zotero logoZotero

Zotero is a free bibliographic manager available as a software plugin in your web browser. Zotero collects, manages, and cites research from multiple types of sources. Through Zotero you can organize your research into different folders for different projects. Zotero can create bibliographies using Word or OpenOffice. Zotero provides a series of tutorial videos to get you started. 

Mendeley logoMendeley

Mendeley is a free reference manager that allows you to manage citations and PDFs. It includes plugins for Word and OpenOffice to create citations and/or bibliographies as you write. Unlike other similar tools, Mendeley is a social networking tool that allows you to connect and share with other researchers and students - you can even login via Facebook. 

Library Services

Search the libraries of other universities across the state!

This great expands the number of books available to you for your research. In the library catalog:

  1. Enter your search terms or keywords into the search bar. A drop-down menu with four options will appear.
  2. Choose the All ODIN Libraries option at the bottom - this will include resources from all other university libraries in ODIN, our state-wide network, in your search.
  3. If you find a book or other resource that's relevant to your research, sign into the catalog and request it through Interlibrary Loan.

screenshot of the UJ library catalog search bar with "All ODIN Libraries" circled

Inspiration & Advice: Writing & Research Guides

Dissertations and Theses from Start to Finish: Psychology & Related Fields

The authoritative guide to dissertations and theses, now updated and revised to reflect changes to the APA's Publication Manual, Seventh Edition.

Writing Skills in Nursing and Healthcare: A Guide to Completing Successful Dissertations and Theses

Guides the reader through the writing process for a dissertation, thesis or essay. Practical strategies and tips for each stage of the process are offered throughout.

A Concise Guide to Writing a Thesis or Dissertation: Educational Research & Beyond

Provides clear, succinct, and intentional guidelines about organizing and writing a thesis or dissertation.

Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, & Mixed Methods Approaches

Compares qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. Includes key elements of the research process, a literature review, an assessment of theory in research applications, and reflections on ethics in scholarly inquiry.

Research for the Health Professional

Your guide to research and evidence-based practice. This classic text explains the hows and whys of conducting and writing a research project.

The Craft of Research

From first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government, this classic text will help you learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research.