Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MUSIC: Research Guide

Resource suggestions and search tips for research in music as well as access to scores and sheet music.

Get Started

treble clef with some notes on wavy staff linesIn this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources can be a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

cover art

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

29 volumes; also available online through Oxford Music Online. REF 780.3 G89n 2001

cover art

Dictionary for the Modern Singer

Includes terms and figures that influenced modern singing styles. Topics include voice pedagogy, vocal health, styles, genres, performers, and diction. 782.003 H654d

cover art

The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music

Biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. ebook

cover art

The Harvard Dictionary of Music

Includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat. ebook

cover art

Musical Terms, Symbols and Theory: An Illustrated Dictionary

An authoritative source for researchers, musicologists, professional musicians, teachers and students of music. ebook

cover art

Chamber Music: An Extensive Guide for Listeners

This go-to guide surveys the historical and musical impact of some 130 composers. REF 785 M964c

cover art

All Music Guide to Rock

A guide to rock, pop and soul recordings; provides biographies, discographies, reviews, essays, charts and ratings. REF 781.66 AL51