Library Guides: COMM201: Oral Interpretation of Literature: Start Here

In This Guide

In this Guide, you'll find:

Library and online resources for finding
- Prose
- Drama
- Poetry
- Speeches
A quick tutorial on finding a book by its call number

In-Class Activity

After we've discussed the library catalog and useful databases, we'll walk over to the library so that you can practice finding books by their call numbers and browsing the stacks.

Each group will be assigned a type of resource to spend time searching for (short story, drama, and poetry). In your groups:

Select two or three of the resources in this Guide and find them in the stacks. Feel free to browse around in the stacks and choose other resources, just be prepared to justify why it could work for your recitations in this class.
Show them to your librarian and walk me through how you found it.
Don't worry about putting them back on the shelf--we'll start a pile.

Library Databases

Search Library Databases, too!

Besides physical books and free online resources, there are a few library databases that contain poetry, short stories, and plays as well as scholarship about literature.

You can limit each of these databases by the type of literature you're looking for.

LitFinder This link opens in a new window
Covers world literature and authors throughout history. Contains literary works including poetry, short stories, speeches, and plays, plus secondary source materials.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Provides access to original creative works from a range of authors plus a deep collection of full-text critical and literary analysis.