Library Guides: ENGINEERING: Research Guide: Find Codes &amp; Standards

Research & Instruction Librarian

Cole Cymbaluk

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Raugust Library

701-252-3467 ext. 5433

In This Section

In this section, you'll find:

Online sources for codes and standards
Codes and standards available in Raugust Library

No full access? Just get in touch

If you need a code or standard that the library doesn't own, or that there's no free access to online, please get in touch! We can look into requesting it from another library or purchasing it for our own collection.

Online Resources

ANSI Standards Portal
Standards in read-only format from a number of organizations, some hosted by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) and some hosted by the developing organizations themselves. You'll need to register each time you want to view a particular standard hosted by ANSI, and many of the standards hosted by individual organizations also require registration or making free accounts.
Standards Store by Accuris
Aggregates (and sells) standards from many standards developing organizations. A good place to search broadly if you're not sure what standard(s) you need. NOTE: The library can purchase standards for capstone projects - don't spend your own money!
ASME - Find a Standard
Search through American Society of Mechanical Engineers standards. Once you have identified the standard you need, the library can look into purchasing or requesting it.
ASCE - Browse Standards
Search and browse American Society of Civil Engineers Standards. Once you've identified the standard you need, the library can look into purchasing or requesting it.
National Fire Protection Association Codes and Standards
The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) publishes codes and standards that address fire, life, and electrical safety. NFPA offers read-only access to their codes and standards (meaning they can't be downloaded or printed from the website), and you'll have to register for a free account.
American Institute of Steel Construction Current Standards
All of AISC's current standards are available as free downloads to the public in PDF format.
ASTM Standards & Publications
Search ASTM International standards and other publications. Once you've determined which standard you need, we can look into requesting it or purchasing it for the library.
SAE Standards
Search and browse standards from SAE International. Once you've identified the standard you need, the library can look into purchasing or requesting it.
NIST Free Standard Reference Data
From the National Institute of Standards and Technology (U.S. Department of Commerce).
ASSIST Quick Search
A public website that lets users search for defense and federal specifications and standards, military handbooks, commercial item descriptions, data item descriptions, MS detail drawings, Qualified Product Lists (QPLs), and related technical documents. Most are available for download for free.
U.S. Department of Labor OSHA Standards
Workplace health and safety standards from the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA).
American Concrete Institute - Standards
Search for codes and specifications from the American Concrete Institute (ACI). Most are available for purchase - reach out to your advisor or the library if you find a code you need to use for your project.

Standards in Raugust Library

Search the catalog

Head to the library catalog and search using keywords such as "engineering standards," the name of the organization that issues the standard, or by the title of the standard. Make sure to select the Library Catalog search option when you're entering your search terms.

Search the network

We're part of a state-wide network of university libraries. Use the All ODIN Libraries search option to search the collections of other libraries in North Dakota, like UND and NDSU--they have a lot bigger collections than we do.

NFPA Standards

The following NFPA standards are located upstairs in the General Collection.

NFPA 91: Standard for Exhaust Systems for Air Conveying of Vapors, Gases, Mists, and Particulate Solids
Call Number: 628.92 N213s, no.91

This standard provides technical requirements for exhaust systems that will protect lives and property from fires and explosions and minimize damage in the event that such fires and explosions occur.
NFPA 484: Standard for Combustible Metals
Call Number: 628.92 N213s, no.484

This standard applies to the production, processing, finishing, handling, recycling, storage, and use of all metals and alloys that are in a form that is capable of combustion or explosion, as well as to operations where metal or metal alloys are subjected to processing or finishing operations that produce combustible powder or dust.
NFPA 652: Standard on the Fundamentals of Combustible Dust
Call Number: 628.92 N213s, no.652

This standard shall provide the basic principles of and requirements for identifying and managing the fire and explosion hazards of combustible dusts and particulate solids.
NFPA 654: Standard for the Prevention of Fire and Dust Explosions from the Manufacturing, Processing, and Handling of Combustible Particulate Solids
Call Number: 628.92 N213s, no.654

This standard presents safety measures to prevent and mitigate fires and dust explosions in facilities that handle combustible particulate solids, which includes combustible dusts, fibers, flocks, flakes, chips, and chunks.

SAE Standards

The following SAE standards are located upstairs in the General Collection.

AIR5479B: Environmentally Compliant Processes for Landing Gear
Call Number: 629.10287 So1 Air5479b

This SAE Aerospace Information Report (AIR) describes the performance of platings and coatings for landing gear that potentially provide environmental compliance benefits versus the current baseline processes.
AIR4566A: Crashworthy Landing Gear Design
Call Number: 629.10287 So1 Air4566a

The intent of this SAE Aerospace Information Report (AIR) is to document the design requirements and approaches for the crashworthy design of aircraft landing gear.
AS6053A: Tests, Impact, Shock Absorber Landing Gear, Aircraft
Call Number: 629.10287 So1 As6053a

This specification covers definition of landing impact tests which are to be conducted on landing gear assemblies including shock absorbers, suggested instrumentation for the tests and required data of the resulting test report.

ENGINEERING: Research Guide | Find Codes & Standards