Library Guides: ENGINEERING: Research Guide: Get Started

Your Librarian

Amanda Walch

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Raugust Library, Reference & Instruction Office
701-252-3467 ext. 5441

Subjects: For Faculty, Library & Research Help

Off Campus Access

Off-Campus Access Information

Getting Started

In this Guide, you'll find:

Reference Sources to lead you to general information, handbooks, and exam prep
Databases and some engineering journals to help you Find Articles
- Tips for accessing Articles Beyond UJ subscriptions
Information on searching the catalog, ebooks, and streaming media to help you Find Books & Media
Resources for Codes & Standards online and in Raugust Library

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

Engineering Source This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text coverage for engineering journals, magazines and trade publications, monographs, books, and conference papers and proceedings.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect focuses on peer-reviewed scientific, technical, and medical research in the life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering. Some full-text and some open access.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research, trade journals, and popular news/magazines covering all disciplines. A good place to start for most research topics. (An expanded version of Academic Search Premier.)

News from the field

C&EN (Chemical & Engineering News)
Archived issues (including the current issue) from the American Chemical Society's trade news magazine.

Find Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources are a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks.

Concise Dictionary of Engineering
Call Number: REF 620.003 H193c
Defines the principal and most commonly used terms found in engineering documents and drawings across multiple disciplines and explains them in plain, unambiguous English.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook
Call Number: REF 621 M464
4 volumes.
Machinery's Handbook, 30th Edition
Call Number: REF 621.8 Ob23m
A reference book for the mechanical engineer, designer, manufacturing engineer, draftsman, toolmaker and machinist
Handbook of Measurements
Call Number: REF 530.81 H191
Benchmarks for systems accuracy and precision.
Standard Handbook of Engineering Calculations
Call Number: REF 620.0021 St242
A practical resource that contains more than 5000 specific, step-by-step calculation procedures for solving both common and uncommon engineering problems.
Mechanical Engineering Reference Manual for the PE Exam
Call Number: REF 621.076 L641m
The most comprehensive textbook for the NCEES Mechanical PE exam. Together, the 76 chapters provide an in-depth review of the Mechanical PE exam topics.
Steel Construction Manual, 13th Edition
Call Number: REF 624.1821 Am355s