Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NURSING: Subject Guide

Research help and resource suggestions for research in Nursing.

In This Guide

In this Guide, you'll find:

Key Resources

Quick links to best bets

magnifying class iconSearch Tips: Nursing Journals @ Ovid

Because we only have access to the latest 5 years of AJN, Nursing, the Journal of Nursing Administration, MCN, and Nursing Research, you might come across articles that require payment to view. Try these steps to limit your search to only full-text articles:

  • Make sure to check the Your Journals @Ovid box when you first open the database.
  • Expand the Limits options and enter a date range that only includes the last 5 years.

You can also search the titles of articles without full text in the Library Catalog to see if we have access to them in other databases.

Questions along the way? Email your Reference & Instruction Librarian, Amanda, at reference@uj.edu.

Finding Background Information

Reference sources - great for getting started

Reference sources are a great starting point for research. Reference sources typically provide definitions, give topic overviews, and explain theories. They can also point to additional readings and scholarship. Examples of reference sources include: dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, guidebooks, manuals, and textbooks. 

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Cover of

Key Concepts in Nursing

Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.

Cover of

Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

This one-stop reference presents key terms and concepts and clarifies their application to practice.

Cover of

Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research

This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.

Cover of

Nursing Leadership: A Concise Encyclopedia

A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators.

Cover of

Black's Medical Dictionary

Black's Medical Dictionary is invaluable as a home reference and for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

Cover of

Lippincott's Visual Encyclopedia of Clinical Skills

Lippincott's Visual Encyclopedia of Clinical Skills is an innovative book that improves nursing skills through the use of more than 700 detailed, full-color photographs, diagrams, step-by-step illustrations, and other graphics.

Micromedex

Micromedex logo (linked to the Micromedex website)

Medscape Mobile App

Medscape logo, linked to Medscape website

Free mobile app providing:

  • Drug Reference
  • Drug Interaction Checker
  • Medical Calculators 
  • Disease & Condition Reference
  • Procedure Reference

Other Reference Sources